Habits

Crissi Jami wrote that “An over-indulgence of anything, even something as pure as water, can intoxicate”
Whenever i had a hard time sleeping, i would read a book or my bible. Problem was that sometimes i would doze off before putting the book away and end up tearing or folding the pages (most of which were borrowed books). I resorted to listening to poetry or narratives from people like Maya Angelou, Gwendolyn Brook and the like.Best discovery ever because within a few minutes i would drift off to sleep.

However this didn’t last long. I was sold!! The more i listened, the more i would want to know how the story ended, spend time musing about richness in lines in a poem or analyzing the hidden meaning of outstanding phrases. 

Before i knew it, the one thing that helped me sleep kept me up. This got me thinking, what are those other things i have allowed to occupy my thoughts and what impact do they have in my life? 

#FoodForThought

Leave a Reply

